Companies / Wind-down service

SimpleClosure

A company-shutdown service whose AssetHub brokers the sale or licence of code, workspace data, IP and domains, for a percentage on success. Recorded here: 5 clauses of its contract in its own words, what it sells, in its own words, 2 funding events, 8 public prices and 6 market records.

Founded 2023simpleclosure.comLatest record 15 Oct 2026

$19M

disclosed funding raised

What it wants
Source code, and workspace data such as email, Slack, Notion and Drive.
What it publishes about price
"Tens to hundreds of thousands of dollars for unique assets". Early deals were reported at $10,000 to $100,000.
Who it takes
Startups shutting down, and now companies still operating too.
How the holder is paid
Not published.
Who removes personal data
SimpleClosure processes personal data before licensing and excludes compensation, health and other sensitive records.
What it pays for an introduction
Up to $1,000 for a referred shutdown; nothing published for data sales.

We are not SimpleClosure's agent, partner or representative. If you hold data it might buy, we can put it in front of SimpleClosure and every other buyer that fits at the same time.

What SimpleClosure sells

In its own words, read on its own site 15 Oct 2026. On the vendor register

What it sells

Datasets: “We work with a vetted network of strategic buyers, including leading AI foundation labs, reinforcement learning environment builders, and other technology companies looking for real-world data for AI training.” simpleclosure.com

Where its data comes from

The client's own data: “Founders working with SimpleClosure can recover it through two distinct ways: the codebases they built, and the workspace data from how their teams actually worked.” simpleclosure.com

Buys data from owners
Its programme is set out above.
Areas its pages name
Coding, Business work

What SimpleClosure's contract says

A shutdown service that also sells companies' assets, and may buy them itself. The clauses SimpleClosure publishes for the people it buys data from, in its own words, the costliest first. “Our reading” is ours, not SimpleClosure's. These terms change: read the page itself before you sign.

  • Licence and use

    Submitting assets lets SimpleClosure de-identify your data and use it for any legal purpose.

    “Your license to us includes permission for us to aggregate, anonymize, and de-identify Your Data to use for any legal purpose. The foregoing license specifically includes Digital Assets (defined below) you submit through the Asset Hub Services”

    Our reading: Uploading is itself a licence, before any buyer is found.

    simpleclosure.com, read 11 Oct 2026
  • Resale

    Whoever acquires the assets may license or sell them on, without your consent or further payment.

    “the acquiring entity will thereafter have the right to use, reproduce, modify, distribute, license, sell, or otherwise exploit the Digital Assets for any lawful purpose, including licensing or sale to third parties, without further consent from or compensation to you”

    Our reading: Every later sale of your data pays you nothing.

    simpleclosure.com, read 11 Oct 2026
  • Other

    You warrant every notice and consent from the people in the data: employees, contractors, customers, investors and vendors.

    “You have provided all required notices to, and obtained all required consents from, any individuals whose personal information may be contained in the Digital Assets, including employees, contractors, customers, investors, and vendors”

    Our reading: A wide warranty that few companies can give truthfully without a rights file.

    simpleclosure.com, read 11 Oct 2026
  • When you are paid

    No upfront cost; SimpleClosure takes a percentage if the assets sell. The rate is not published.

    “There’s no upfront cost to use AssetHub. SimpleClosure only takes a percentage if your assets are successfully sold or licensed.”

    Our reading: Compare its percentage with any other fee before you sign.

    simpleclosure.com, read 11 Oct 2026
  • Other

    It states it is not your adviser or fiduciary.

    “SimpleClosure is not a board advisor or fiduciary.”

    Our reading: It runs the sale and may be the buyer, and it does not owe you the best price.

    simpleclosure.com, read 11 Oct 2026

Not published: Its success percentage, Payment timing, Exclusivity. Ask for each in writing.

Public prices involving SimpleClosure

Funding and acquisitions

  • 7 May 2025
    Event
    Series A
    Amount
    $15M
  • 27 Feb 2024
    Event
    Seed
    Amount
    $4M

In the brokerage market

  • Oct 2026, intermediary

    over 150 deals; expects to return over $10 million by end of 2026; 47% of its deals now include code or data sales

    MIT Technology Review reporting, with the CEO as the source of the 150, the $10 million and the 47%. It supersedes the April 2026 figure of nearly 100 deals (Forbes).

    MIT Technology Review, 13 Oct 2026

  • Oct 2026, transaction

    roughly $25,000 for the code base; a pending amount (likely around $15,000) for workspace data

    One founder's sale brokered by SimpleClosure (the founder is named in the article).

    MIT Technology Review, 13 Oct 2026

  • Sep 2026, broker economics

    on track to return more than $10 million to startups by the end of 2026 (a forecast, not money already returned)

    350+ companies supported; AI buyers up 9X versus 2025; AssetHub opened to operating companies; free for SimpleClosure dissolution customers (fee for others not disclosed). Multi-pass de-identification; sensitive employee and health records not sold.

    SimpleClosure press release (syndicated via Webull), 3 Sep 2026

  • Sep 2026, price range

    tens of thousands to hundreds of thousands of dollars; potentially millions at enterprise scale

    Based on 350+ startup datasets. About 37% of raw code disappeared after removing third-party or generated code and duplicates. Demand cited in manufacturing, energy, banking and insurance, professional services and logistics.

    SimpleClosure, 3 Sep 2026

  • Apr 2026, price range

    $10,000 to $100,000 per company; nearly 100 deals; over $1 million recovered

    CEO Dori Yona's figures to Forbes. SimpleClosure removes personally identifiable information before sale.

    Forbes, 16 Apr 2026

  • Apr 2026, transaction

    hundreds of thousands of dollars

    Former CEO Shanna Johnson's account; buyer and exact price not disclosed.

    Forbes, 16 Apr 2026

Cite this

AIData.Broker, “SimpleClosure in the AI training data market”, reviewed 15 Oct 2026. https://aidata.markets/companies/simpleclosure

Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 if you credit AIData.Broker and link to this page. Each row names the publication that stated it, and words quoted from a source keep that source's own terms.

All companies

Hold data SimpleClosure might buy? Start with what it is worth.

SimpleClosure: its contract terms, what it pays and records | AIData.Broker