Public prices involving Meta
- Meta's 2024 spend with Surge AI
Contrary attributes the figure to The Information. One lab's annual human-data bill with one vendor.
Press report, Contrary Research, Surge AI memo (updated 1 September 2026)
$150 million in 2024per year
- News Corp US and UK news content, including archives, licensed to Meta for AI
Terms from people familiar; News Corp confirmed the deal but not the money.
Press report, Mediaweek (citing The Wall Street Journal)
up to US$50 million a year, at least three yearsper year
- Generalist data work on Mercor's Meta project Nova, after project Musen ended
Musen paid $5 more ($21 an hour) and had more than 5,000 workers at peak; Mercor called the reporting inaccurate. The low end of Mercor's pay, for a Meta generalist project.
Press report, Business Insider (on AOL)
$16 an hourper hour (paid to the worker)
- Skilled participant recorded in first- and third-person video for the Ego-Exo4D dataset
Academic consortium led by Meta; plus a $20 travel reimbursement. A pre-boom reference point for egocentric capture pay.
The payer's own page, arXiv, Ego-Exo4D (v4)
US$20 in gift cards for each hourper hour of recording
Licensing deals
- Mar 2026Le Figaro to MetaTerms not disclosed
Shown in answers
- Mar 2026Prisa to MetaTerms not disclosed
Shown in answers
- Mar 2026Süddeutsche Zeitung to MetaTerms not disclosed
Shown in answers
- Mar 2026News Corp to Meta$50M a year
Training and answers
- Dec 2025USA Today to MetaTerms not publicly disclosed
Shown in answers
- Dec 2025People Inc. to MetaTerms not publicly disclosed
Shown in answers
- Dec 2025CNN to MetaTerms not publicly disclosed
Shown in answers
- Dec 2025Fox News to MetaTerms not publicly disclosed
Shown in answers
- Dec 2025The Daily Caller to MetaTerms not publicly disclosed
Shown in answers
- Dec 2025Washington Examiner to MetaTerms not publicly disclosed
Shown in answers
- Dec 2025Le Monde to MetaTerms not publicly disclosed
Shown in answers
- Oct 2024Reuters to MetaDollar value not disclosed
Shown in answers
- Apr 2024$25 million to $50 million each initially; most later expanded
- Apr 2024Rates vary by buyer and content type
Lawsuits, rulings and regulators
- Oct 2026
- Mar 2026Kadrey v. Meta: leave to add contributory infringement claim over torrenting
Leave to amend granted; class discovery denied.
- Jun 2025Kadrey v. Meta: summary judgment for Meta on fair use
Partial summary judgment for Meta; torrenting distribution claim continues.
- May 2025Verbraucherzentrale NRW v. Meta: Cologne court refuses injunction against AI training
Injunction refused; consumer group weighing main proceedings.
- May 2025Irish DPC: statement on Meta resuming AI training from 27 May 2025
Training allowed to proceed under monitoring.
- Jun 2024Irish DPC: Meta pauses EU training on Facebook and Instagram posts
Training paused (resumed from 27 May 2025 after changes).
Cite this
AIData.Broker, “Meta in the AI training data market”, reviewed 15 Oct 2026. https://aidata.markets/companies/meta
Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 if you credit AIData.Broker and link to this page. Each row names the publication that stated it, and words quoted from a source keep that source's own terms.